Election 2022 E-Sanchit MEMBER LOGIN SEARCH

Results of Council’s Election 2024

Carpet Export Promotion Council Announces Results of 2024 CoA Elections

New Delhi, May 9, 2024 – Carpet Export Promotion Council (CEPC) is pleased to announce the results of the highly anticipated Council Elections held for the year 2024. Chaired by Dr. Romesh Khajuria, appointed by the Government of India, Ministry of Textiles, Office of the Development Commissioner (Handicrafts), the elections saw enthusiastic participation from candidates across various regions.

The electoral process, conducted in accordance with the prevailing Memorandum and Articles of Association & Election Rules of the Council, attracted a total of 34 contestants for 18 positions of member to the Committee of Administration (COA). The breakdown of participation included 19 contestants from Category I (Uttar Pradesh), 7 from Category II (Jammu & Kashmir), and 8 from Category III (Rest of India – States other than U.P. and J&K).

Today, the results were declared at Hotel The Lalit, Barakhamba Road, New Delhi, in the presence of esteemed dignitaries including Dr. Romesh Khakujria, Chairman, CEPC, Ms. Amrit Raj, Development Commissioner (Handicrafts), Shri Neeraj Gaba, Director, Department of Commerce and Shri Prashant Meena, Deputy Secretary, Ministry of Textiles.

The following contestants have been declared elected as Members of the COA in the Carpet Export Promotion Council:

FROM CATEGORY-I (Uttar Pradesh)

Mr. Mohammad Wasif Ansari of M/s. Teppich-De-Orienta, Bhadohi (U.P.)

Mr. Aslam Mahboob of M/s. Alam Rugs, Bhadohi (U.P.)

Mr. Ravi Patodia of M/s.  Patodia Exports, Bhadohi (U.P.)

Mr. Piyush Kumar Baranwal  of M/s.  Anjani Carpets, Mahmoorganj, Varanasi (U.P.)

Mr. Imtiaz Ahmad of M/s. Textico, Bhadohi (U.P.)

Mr. Sanjay Kumar Gupta of M/s. Global Overseas, Gopiganj, Bhadohi (U.P.)

Mr. Surya Mani Tiwari of M/s. Surya Carpet Private Limited, Aurai, Bhadohi (U.P.)

Mr. Rohit Gupta of M/s. Gallery, Bhadohi (U.P.)

Mr. Anil Kumar Singh of M/s. Rajput Carpets, Mirzapur (U.P.)

Mr. Husain Jafar Husaini of M/s. Art Weavers Private Limited, Varanasi (U.P.)


FROM CATEGORY-II (Jammu & Kashmir)

Mr. Shaukat Khan of M/s. Ganearts, Srinagar (J&K)

Mr. Kuldeep Raj Wattal of M/s. Bazaz Orient Teppiche, Srinagar (J&K)

Mr. Mehraj Yasin Jan of M/s. Jay Cee Exports, Srinagar (J&K)

Mr. Ashiq Ahmad Sheikh of M/s. Ferozson Exports Pvt. Ltd., Srinagar (J&K)



Mr. Mahavir Pratap Sharma of M/s. Oscar Expo Design LLP, Jaipur (Rajasthan)

Mr. Mukesh Kumar Gombar of M/s. Kanu Overseas, New Delhi.

Mr. Deepak Khanna of M/s. Man Made, Jaipur (Rajasthan)

Mr. Bodh Raj Malhotra of M/s. Rugs Overseas, New Delhi.

Dr. Romesh Khajuria, Chairman, CEPC, expressed his gratitude to all involved in the successful conduct of the elections, including Government officials, Election Committee Members, Shri Shiv Kumar Gupta, OSD, Shri Jagmohan, Officiating Executive Director Cum Secretary, CEPC and contestants. He extended his congratulations to the newly elected members of COA, highlighting their crucial role in advancing the Carpet & Rugs Industry and envisioning a prosperous future under their leadership. Dr. Khajuria also appreciated the role media for their positive and support in creating the awareness of CEPC election amongst the industry stakeholders.

Dr. Khajuria also expressed his happiness on completing this important task assigned by the Government of India.

Dr. Romesh Khajuria, Chairman of CEPC, conveyed his heartfelt appreciation to all individuals involved in the successful execution of the elections, extending his gratitude to government officials, members of the Election Committee, Shri Shiv Kumar Gupta, OSD, and Shri Jagmohan, Officiating Executive Director Cum Secretary, CEPC, as well as the contestants. He warmly congratulated the newly elected members of the COA, emphasizing the pivotal role they will play in advancing the Carpet & Rugs Industry and shaping a prosperous future under their guidance. Dr. Khajuria also commended the media for their positive support in raising awareness of the CEPC election among industry stakeholders.

Expressing his satisfaction, Dr. Khajuria also shared his joy in fulfilling this significant task entrusted by the Government of India.

Further, it is worth noting that Dr. Romesh Khajuria holds the esteemed position of Chairman of Wool & Woollens Export Promotion Council (WWEPC), an important body serving the Indian woollen industry. The woollen sector holds immense importance in India’s economy, contributing significantly to employment generation, rural livelihoods, and export revenue. Dr. Khajuria’s leadership in both CEPC and WWEPC underscores his dedication to fostering growth and sustainability within these vital sectors of India’s textile industry.